Posted in Media/Pop Culture

Blade (1998)

Continuing on my movies based on Marvel Comics characters watch-through brings me to the first one that I didn’t know anything about before watching. This movie is not actually about a superhero (ok, I guess that depends on your definition of what a superhero is, but I digress) but instead it’s about a Vampire hunter.

Blade is born while is mother is dying from a Vampire bite; this grants him the benefits of being part Vampire and part Human, as well as all the downsides. This makes for a great story-line not only between good and bad but also including personal dilemmas.

Since I’ve never read a Blade comic, I don’t have any outside influence to reference how I feel about this movie. I think that Wesley Snipes was an excellent choice to play Blade. I also would say that even though I would consider this a good movie over all, it is rather gory and that was quite uncomfortable (but it is a Vampire movie so I guess I should’ve expected it, right?). There is also a scene where he shares what I can only describe as a sensual moment with his mother.

The ending obviously shows that there is a continuation- which there was, 4 years later- and I will be interested to see how that one is. The comments on my Facebook post were positive about this movie. If you are an action or vampire fan I recommend it, if you are the standard movie or superhero fan it’s nothing to go out of your way for but it’s also not something that I would avoid if you saw it on TV one day.

Author:

Not really a fan of writing, but wanting to share my life with whomever cares.

One thought on “Blade (1998)

Leave a Reply

