Posted in Life/Other

Why Don’t We Dance Anymore?

This morning I was making breakfast and I had my French radio station playing and a disco song came on (an American one). Well without really thinking about it I started to dance along. This got me thinking.

Now why doesn’t anything like that exist now? Musicians don’t really write music people can dance to anymore (with the obvious exceptions of famous line dances like the Cupid Shuffle, etc). Hell, sometimes it’s just a bunch of technobeats with like 5 words, max.

From the big band era of the 40s until, uh, let’s say the 70s all music was made so that it could be danced to. Clubs would have  dance floors with people actually dancing on them. I’m not sure about much of the 80s and 90s (again, except the obvious ones like the Macarana).

Now you go into a club and it’s just people either jumping (violently, I might add), awkwardly bobbing along, or grinding (usually to a level that is overly ridiculous outside of the privacy of a strip club).

This has created a large number of young adults that are able to dance. They go to dances in high school and either do one of the things listed in the above paragraph or they just hangout on the sides of the dance floor. Now don’t get me wrong there have been plenty of times where I myself would enjoy grinding on the dance floor, but only for so long.

I made an arbitrary post about it on my Twitter this morning and it met with very positive results. So my question would be why don’t we try to bring it back? Our kids won’t go to dances where the only option is to be groped or stand on the side, adults would have a place to go where they could dress up and enjoy themselves, like adults I might add, and it would just add another layer to enjoying the music. I know we’ve all seen the old people at a concert in the community be able to just get up and dance along, but meanwhile I’m stuck to just bobbing along awkwardly.

If you don’t think it’s easy you’re probably right, but the good stuff is never easy. And hey, they did it in An Extremely Goofy Movie…

Author:

Not really a fan of writing, but wanting to share my life with whomever cares.

Leave a Reply

